I’m done with you siphoning my Power

Have you ever heard a song for the first time and just fallen in love with it? Just hit you right in the feels because the lyrics were so darn relatable and resonated with you so deeply?

This happens for me from time to time, I do after all, have “Teenage dream”Lyrics tattooed on my foot, but most recently it was a song called “Power” from Katy Perry’s 4th Studio Album “Witness” (yes OK 5th if we count Katy Hudson, but i am not, settle down Katy Cat’s) 

The First time I heard Power was shortly after midnight on the 9th of June 2017, i had, of course, waited up until midnight for the album to drop and was listening through to each track wrapped in a blanket in my lounge sipping a red wine, trying not to wake my Husband.

From that first Drum Roll at the beginning I was hooked, but its not just the retro vibe and powerful production that has me hooked on the Jack Garratt produced Banger, For me it really comes down to the Lyrics, the idea of being strong and comfortable in your own skill, to be your authentic self through and through and to take back your power!.

”Power”‘ became my inspiration, my anthem for taking back my Power, Like most Woman, i have come across more than my fair share of chauvinistic men who have tried to put out my light, But i survived and moved on, or so i thought. Truth is, I still was holding onto the past and letting my fear of the past dictate my future, I was blaming myself .

”Power” helped me realise that I needed to forgive myself for the mistakes i had made in the past, and to let go and move forward, to love myself and to never let anyone take that self love away from me again, Because i am a Goddess and i Know it!

Katy Perry has always inspired me to be a strong and powerful woman, not only does she provide inspirational pop songs, she also surrounds herself with powerful, inspirational feminists like Cleo Wade, Mia Moretti and Sia. (if you have never seen the Rose and Thorn diner from Katy’s Witness world wide live stream what are you doing with your life?) who all speak openly and honestly about the struggles of being a female in today’s society as well as the power it gives us. These woman have opened my eyes to the changes we have to make in our every day lives and in ourselves to ensure our daughters have a happier, safer world to live in.

My passion and love for ”Power” Inspired me to create a wearable tribute to the song to wear to Katy’s “‘Witness the Tour” Earlier this year. So this is me, on a fashion Power Trip (Pun Intended).

It all started with my sudden need to bedazzle a jacket, something i have never done, but i wanted to challenge myself. So i drew out a design for the back and hit Ebay!

Because i had no idea what i was doing i ended up buying thousands of teeny tiny 1mm Diamante’s and some tubes of E-6000 glue. I had no Idea at this point just how small 1mm was. I nearly went blind gluing them all into place, but hey, fashion is pain right ladies? and there was always wine on hand.

It took me over 30 hours to bedazzle the words on the back of the jacket, but it wasn’t enough, i had the creative juices flowing now and i needed to take this outfit next level, i decided i needed to design a custom dress and shoes to match.

dmpgjg5uwae-dtw.jpg

I created a fabric design using the Piano Sheet music for “Power” i turned it a soft pink and arranged it in a diagonal print to create a fabric for my dress.

And to finish it all off, i designed a pair of custom High top  sneakers complete with ”Power” Lyrics, Goddess wings and KP’s iconic Witness eye’s

The complete outfit took me hours, but it was a labour of love for a song that means so much to me, and i was fortunate enough to get to show Katy my hard work in Person, and to explain to her why this song means so much to me, and to thank her for the strength it has given me, i started to tear up at this point and KP came in with a huge hug.  As i was walking out she yelled “YOU are a Goddess and I know it!”

”You can’t clip my wings, can’t wilt my flowers
Stole my time, but I’ll make up the hours
‘Cause I’m a goddess and you know it
Some respect, you better show it
I’m done with you siphoning my power!”

Photo 8-8-18, 7 24 50 pm

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.