I get by with a little help from my friends.

When people ask me how i met my closest friends, I can tell they expect a me to say something like “Oh from school” or “We met at work”. Most people don’t expect me to say “Oh, We met on Twitter and bonded over a mutual love of Katy Perry”, but that’s the truth.

So how do you meet people on twitter? its pretty easy actually,  you just start following other people who like the same thing as you, in my case it was following other Katy Cat accounts, you start chatting, you bond, and sometimes you find out you have way more in common than expected.

I’m not exactly sure how i found my best friend, Lou, on twitter. My best guess is that I searched for tweets containing the words “Katy Perry Brisbane”. However it happened we became fast friends and talked daily.

At some point we started to chatted about where we were from, at the time Lou lived in Townsville and i lived in Hervey Bay, both located in Queensland Australia, So we found it funny that we were both Kiwi’s but we didn’t think much else of it, lets be honest, there are probably more Kiwi’s in Queensland than in New Zealand by this point. Further into the conversation it started to get a little bit crazy, We worked out we were born in the same hospital in Palmerston North, We both moved from Palmerston North to Upper Hutt where we grew up, We both went to the same primary and intermediate schools, We used to play together with the same group of kids on a street in Totara Park and Lou used to have her hair cut at the hairdressers i worked at after school.

I had legit washed this person’s hair and played with her as a child and we connect up in a different country, miles from home, on Twitter, Purely because we both love the same pop star?!? isn’t the internet wild!

KP Lou me
Lou and I with Katy in Brisbane

I met my other best friend, Lara on Twitter too, we were both flying into Sydney for the Katy Perry: Part of me Movie premier, Lara from Melbourne and me from Hervey Bay, neither of us knew anyone else going, so we got chatting and decided to meet up and go together. So we met up at a random bus stop in the middle of Sydney, it was like we had been friend’s forever, no awkwardness, instant friendship. The night just happened to be my Birthday, so we went out for dinner and drinks and then managed to get into a filming for Katy’s interview on “The Project” and were able to meet her together afterwards. Since then we have traveled together for Multiple Katy events over the years.

lara and i
Lara and I at the Katy Perry Pop up store in Sydney

These Queens have been by my side through thick and thin, When i was going trough my darkest days Lara dropped everything and flew in from Melbourne to be with me, Lou will be on the other side of the world and will still make sure to Facetime me so i can watch KP sing “Teenage dream” (its a banger ladies), so naturally i had to have them stand up next to me as bridesmaids at my wedding last year.

They have both helped me grow into the woman i am today and i will be forever grateful for everything they have both done, and continue to do for me, and i will be forever grateful for Twitter and Katy Perry for bringing them into my life.

brides maids
Lou, Rochelle (my Sister and the only BFF i didn’t meet through KP), Me and Lara.

“Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends
Mm, get high with a little help from my friends
Oh, I’m gonna try with a little help from my friends” – The Beatles

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.