Never really over – a love letter to the Katy Cats.

I am a Katy cat, we all know this, I’ve spoken about it often, but I have only really touched on the reasons why.

In short, the Katy cat community and Katy herself have saved me.

I have been in this community for over ten years, I have made friends all over the world who love and support me even though we have never met in person.

I’ve watched girls turn into successful grown woman, I’ve watched girlfriends turn into wives, I’ve watched Katy cats make their goals and dreams come true, and I’m constantly inspired by these people.

Around 2011 I was going through my darkest time, I was in an abusive relationship that also caused me to push away my best friend and sister, the one person who always had my back

I was in a dark and embarrassing place, I was lost.

I was in massive debt, I was consumed by depression and felt like I was alone with no hope or way out.

I was thinking about just giving up on it all.

But I didn’t, and I owe a huge part of that to the love and support of this fanbase, this community, this family.

When I felt I had nobody three guardian angels from Chicago rallied around me, they would check in on me daily via twitter messages, offered me a shoulder to cry on and solid life advice. I owe so much to Molly, Sandy and our beloved Ralph.

These people, who I’ve never met me in real life were my saviours.

We bonded via twitter over a mutual love of Katy Perry.

They could see I was broken and in a bad way and they constantly took time out of their own lives to check up on this little girl thousands of miles away in Australia. They never asked for anything in return except for me to stay.

It was during this time I also met my best friend Lou via twitter, she has been by my side for the past ten years through thick and thin, no questions asked , no judgement, just love.

When you feel so desperate and low it is so important to have people who care about you so deeply, it really means the world, you think to yourself “if they love me, I must be worth it”

It was from these people, my Katy cat family that I learnt the importance of loving each other, regardless of distance. It taught me you can reach out and help a person who needs you and it WILL make a difference.

This is why I spend so much of my free time interacting with the Katy cats either via twitter or Katycats.com (Katy’s offical fan forum and a safe haven from the usual internet trolls)

This is why my DMs are always open and why I attempt to reach out and offer love and advice to people I see who are struggling, I hope one day I can make the kind of difference in someone’s life that these people have made in mine.

So this is a thank you to Katy for giving me the most loving and supportive family I could hope for, for teaching us to love and learn and to look after each other.

And to all of you, my Katy cat family, I say thank you and I love you and this bond will truely be never really over, and I will be here for each and every one of you. Always.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.